GATESHEAD METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING

18 May 2018

PRESENT: THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR J GREEN (CHAIR)

Councillors: J Adams, R Beadle, M Brain, Buckley, Burnett, L Caffrey, M Charlton, B Clelland, P Craig, S Craig, C Davison, W Dick, S Dickie, K Dodds, C Donovan, A Douglas, D Duggan, J Eagle, K Ferdinand, M Foy, P Foy, A Geddes, Geddes, Gibson, B Goldsworthy, M Goldsworthy, M Graham, T Graham, L Green, S Green, G Haley, M Hall, S Hawkins, M Henry, M Hood, Kelly, J Kielty, L Kirton, J Lee, K McCartney, J McClurey, K McClurey, J McElroy, C McHugh, E McMaster, P McNally, M McNestry, R Mullen, B Oliphant, C Ord, M Ord, Oxberry, I Patterson, S Ronchetti, J Simpson, J Turnbull, J Wallace, N Weatherley and A Wheeler

APOLOGIES: Councillors D Bradford, C Bradley, M Gannon, H Haran, P Maughan

and K Wood

CL1 REGENT COURT

The Deputy Leader gave an update on the fire which broke out in Regent Court on 10 May 2018.

On behalf of the whole Council, she acknowledged and put on record the Council's thanks and appreciation to all employees of both The Gateshead Housing Company and the Council for their fantastic response and support to this challenging and difficult incident.

She also extended this to the Council's multi-agency partner organisations including all three emergency services, NHS England, Newcastle Gateshead Clinical Commissioning Group, The British Red Cross and Salvation Army, and Northern Gas Networks for their assistance.

CL2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

As required by Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council proceeded to the election of the Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor K Dodds, seconded by Councillor M Brain, moved that Councillor J Green be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor J Green be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing

municipal year until acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor J Green accepted the office of Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed her thanks for the high honour accorded to her.

CL3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor as required by Section 5 of the Local Government Act 1972.

On the motion of Councillor T Graham, seconded by Councillor L Kirton:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor R Mullen be elected Deputy

Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year until acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor R Mullen accepted the office of Deputy Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed her thanks for the high honour accorded to her.

CL4 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER

On the motion of Councillor M Brain, duly seconded:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor M Gannon be appointed as

Leader of the Council for a four year period until the date of the annual meeting after the

municipal elections in 2022.

CL5 VOTE OF THANKS FOR THE WORK OF THE RETIRING MAYOR AND MAYORESS AND RETIRING DEPUTY MAYOR

On the motion of Councillor C Donovan, seconded by Councillor J Wallace:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the Council conveys its appreciation for the

work of Councillor P Dillon, Ms S Dillon and Councillor J Green for the performance of the many

duties expected of them as Mayor, Mayoress and

Deputy Mayor respectively.

CL6 ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive reported that the following Councillors were elected on 3 May 2018 to represent the wards indicated for a term of four years (except where indicated).

Ward No 1 Crawcrook and Greenside No 2 Ryton, Crookhill and Stella	Elected Hugh Kelly Christopher Buckley* Freda Geddes	Labour Labour Labour
No 3 Chopwell and Rowlands Gill	Lynne Caffrey	Labour
No 4 Winlaton and High Spen No 5 Blaydon	Marilyn Charlton Kathryn Ferdinand	Labour Labour
No 6 Whickham North	Peter Craig	Liberal Democrat Focus Team
No 7 Whickham South and Sunniside	Marilynn Ord	Liberal Democrat
No 8 Dunston Hill and Whickham East	Kevin McClurey	Liberal Democrat
No 9 Dunston and Teams	Dot Burnett	Labour
No 10 Lobley Hill and Bensham	Kevin Dodds	Labour
No 11 Saltwell	John Adams	Labour
No 12 Low Fell	Susan Craig	Liberal
		Democrat
		Focus Team
No 13 Chowdene	Maureen Goldsworthy	Labour
No 14 Bridges	Angela Douglas	Labour
No 15 Deckham	Martin Gannon	Labour
No 16 High Fell	Judith Gibson	Labour
No 17 Felling	Bill Dick	Labour
No 18 Windy Nook and Whitehills	Thomas Graham	Labour
No 19 Pelaw and Heworth	Rosy Oxberry	Labour
No 20 Wardley and Leam Lane	Anne Wheeler	Labour
No 21 Lamesley	Mary Foy	Labour
No 22 Birtley	Paul Foy	Labour

^{*}Christopher Buckley has been elected for a 2 year term as Councillor for Ryton, Crookhill and Stella Ward.

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the information be noted.

CL7 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER AND CABINET

The Deputy Leader announced, in accordance with the Executive Arrangements, that the Leader had appointed his Cabinet members, including the Deputy Leader, Councillor Catherine Donovan.

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the information be noted.

CL8 ALLOCATION OF SEATS

On the motion of Councillor C Donovan, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED -

That in accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the allocation of seats on those bodies to which the Act applies, to the various political groups represented on the Council, as set out in the attached schedule (Appendix 1b(i)) be approved.

CL9 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL AND OTHER BODIES EXERCISING NON EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

(i) Labour Group Nominations

Councillor C Donovan, duly seconded, moved that the members listed at Appendix 1b(ii) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development, Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards and Accounts Committees, Pensions and Pay Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; the Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Northumbria Police and Crime Panel; Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee; the Honours Advisory Group and outside bodies dealing with functions that are not wholly an executive responsibility for the municipal year 2018/19.

COUNCIL RESOLVED - (i)

That the nominations of the Labour
Group listed at Appendix 1b(ii) to these
minutes be agreed.

(ii) That the Chief Executive be authorised, following consultation with the Leader of the Council, to agree any further necessary changes to the list of annual appointments.

(ii) Liberal Democrat Nominations

On the motion of Councillor J Wallace, duly seconded:-

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the members

That the members listed at Appendix 1b(iii) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development, Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards and Accounts Committees; Pensions and Pay Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Honours Advisory Group; the Northumbria Police and Crime Panel and Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2018/19.

CL10 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

On the motion of Councillor	C Donovan, dul	y seconded:-
-----------------------------	----------------	--------------

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the chair and vice-chairs of the bodies listed in Annex 1A to Part 3 of the Constitution and of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees for the municipal year 2018/19 as listed at Appendix 1b(iv) to these

minutes be approved.

Mavor	 	